Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first post and I'm a total noob when it comes to audio. A while back I decided I'd start piecing together a new 3.1 system for our home. I have purchased a smaller receiver and a sub and now I'd like to pick out some towers (i have old bookshelf speakers and a center that I will eventually replace).

I'd like to keep the towers under 1k and I know that I don't have a ton of power coming from my receiver so I'm prob limited in size (I'm assuming).

Although I'd like suggestions on a set of towers, I'm really curious in the thought process for selecting towers based on what I currently have. So, for example, how would one approach pairing towers with with the SVS sub?

Receiver - Marantz 1403
Sub - SB1000
Room is approx 12x13

Any feedback is appreciated.

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
2,539 Posts
Hello, welcome to the forum.

Thanks for posting your budget and room dimensions.

There are a lot of options available to you.
Where are you located?
What kind of music do you listen to most often?
What do you dislike about the sound of the speakers you have now?
What speakers have you heard that you like (even if they are over budget)?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
In the order that you asked :)...

We're in Dallas, TX.
I prob do 80% movies over music but when listening to music it ranges from classical, to classic rock to electric.
The speakers I have now are small Klipsch bookshelf speakers. I get the feeling that they just don't put out a ton of accuracy or sound for that matter.
Most recently I've heard some B&Ws (683 s2 I believe) that sounded pretty good.

Where are you located?
What kind of music do you listen to most often?
What do you dislike about the sound of the speakers you have now?
What speakers have you heard that you like (even if they are over budget)?

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts