Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
868 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I was one of the winners of the miniDSP UMIK microphone giveaway :yay2: Thanks HTS.

I got to playing around with it last night. The microphone installed correctly (as far as I can tell) on my old laptop running Microsoft XP SP2, and REW recognized it. I have used REW in the past a bit, though I'm not an expert by any means.

I was looking at the RTA meter and noticed that at many frequencies it was showing a negative value for SPL. That really surprised me. Since 0 dB is defined as the threshold of audibility, I suppose that negative values for dB SPL are not unreasonable. However, I did not expect to find such values in my room. It was quiet, but this is not a sound-proofed room by any means. It made me wonder if perhaps there is something amiss, something I did wrong.

I didn't calibrate for absolute SPL measurements, but it's my understanding that REW does this automatically from the calibration file for the UMIK mic (which I did provide). The overall SPL from REW's SPL meter was about what I've measured in the past for this room when silent (about 36 - 37 dB).

Any insight anyone can provide about my negative SPL readings on the RTA would be helpful. Thanks.

·
Premium Member
1,562 Posts
The big number in the SPL meter should always be positive.
The small number below over the bar scale is marked "dB FS" (Full Scale). That shows how much headroom is available before the meter is overloaded.

·
Registered
868 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Yes the SPL meter always reads positive. There is always substantial low-frequency energy in the room, which is low enough in both frequency and level to not be noticeable, but the mic and meter pick it up so there's no way that overall SPL is going to be negative. It is the frequencies in the top few octaves as shown on the RTA graph that are dipping below 0 dB.

·
Registered
868 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·