Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 478 Posts

·
Registered
3,069 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,

I live here in the UK and am looking to do a diy sub. I have just sold my PB13 ultra and was looking at a dual 18" opposite sealed sub similar design to the submersive but bigger and more powerful.

What 18" subs and amp would be good to use so that I can achieve a better response in the lower hz and upper hz that will beat the PB13. Dimensions that I can go up to are 36" long by 24" wide by about 30" high.

Is this possible and what options do I have. I am new to this so your advice would be great. I have been looking at FI subs but am open to all options.

cheers

Graham

·
Premium Member
1,538 Posts
You've got plenty of options for 18"- Exodus Mal-X, Soundsplinter, the Fi- add a pro-amp of your choice with a equalizer, maybe Behringer dsp1124 and you're ready to build. Two of any of these with power should exceed your need:T At least that's what I've seen here... One of the excellent moderators may help out here. You can use winisd here to play around with modelling-it's fun to tinker with it if you've got the time.

·
Registered
3,069 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Right here goes this is what Im looking at.

2 x Maelstorm gen 2's in a sealed enclosure measuring 36" long by 24" wide by 30" high in a dual opposite configuration like the submersive run by a behringer europower 4000 amp.

Your thoughts please.

cheers graham

·
Premium Member
19,397 Posts
Actually that's exactly what I was going to suggest if your budget would allow it. The net volume of the box would be about 12 cu.ft., with each sub wired for 4 ohms and each fed from a channel of the amp they would handle the full power of the amp. Cone excursion is not an issue, there would be no requirement for a subsonic filter. Depending on how much room gain you'd get you can expect 120 -122 db at 20 hz.

uk maelstrom.JPG

·
Registered
3,069 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
mike