Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okcokey, I have (hopefully correctly) calibrated soundcard and downloaded relevant SPL file, thanks for the heads up:whew:

The results are quite different, I now have considerable lower down hz v SPL, but the 30hz peak still remains.

Any comments really appreciated, as im still learning and getting to grips with the whole process. It really is good fun and furthering my enjoyment of AV!:bigsmile:

Many thanks

David

Attachments

·
Registered
7,514 Posts
Yep, that looks good now.

So, you have to work on the 35Hz peak.

The first thing to do would be to move the sub and see where the best placement for it is to achieve the smoothest response.

brucek

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Great, thanks Bruce. At least now im barking up the 'right' tree!

Will have a play tomorrow night and post back.

Thank you for your input!

David

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks all.

Quick query though?

Once calibrated using REW etc, do I have the ability to turn the volume up on the sub during music/movies etc to gain more bass as I feel appropriate, and if so, can I just turn up the sunfire sub and leave gain on the B&W605's main L&R speaker active subs as they are?

Would altering any volume/gain on the sub after calibrating have detrimental effects on the hard work of gaining a flat repsonse?:scratchhead:

Thanks

·
Registered
7,514 Posts
Would altering any volume/gain on the sub after calibrating have detrimental effects on the hard work of gaining a flat response?
The volume of the sub will have very little effect on the flatness of the subs response (as long as the sub isn't so loud as to compress).
Obviously, its volume will effect the flatness of the overall sub to mains balance.

brucek

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Many thanks!