Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time actually posting in a forum. I do a lot of reading and researching but have never actually asked a question.

I know that this question has been asked a thousand times (I think I've actually read all of the posts) but I just can't decide and it's making me crazy. Which sub do I go with! So here's what I'm going to be putting in my basement which is 23x20x8.

Epson 8350
110" fixed screen
Onkyo TX-NR 809
Pioneer FS52 fronts with matching center and surrounds
Subwoofer ???????

I just can't decide what way to go. One large sub, one sub vs. two subs, etc. My budget is around $850 (I'm willing to stretch that to around $10000). I don't want something that will shake the rafters right now, but do plan on moving in the next year or two and want something I will be able to integrate into a dedicated home theater room. Right now I want something that is going to be clean and will go low. For single subs (or dual subs depending on price) I've been looking at:

HSU VTF-15H
Epik Empire
SVS PB1000 x 2
Outlaw LFM 1EX x 2

There are many more that I have been looking at as well these are just kind of my front runners. Any advice would be very much appreciated.

·
Registered
2,454 Posts
I'd go with the 2 SVS PB1000's. You'll get a little more extension with 2 subs + get better smoothing with the 2 subs when you run audessey. Unless that $10000 is not a typo :dumbcrazy:!

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ha! Definitely a typo (although I wish it wasn't). Will the dual pb 1000's be comparable to a single
hsu vtf15h or just make the overall experience a little bit smoother? would it be a better idea to go with a bigger sub now and add on later or will the pb 1000's be more than enough? any other suggestionss if I went dual subs?

·
HTS Moderator , Reviewer
3,376 Posts