Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

This is a first post so I hope the question is provided with some relevant details, but if not please let me know.

The room is a 3.8m wide, 5m long and 2.5m high.
Walls are plasterboard and the floor is solid wood covered mostly in a 1" thick rug.
Front wall has 2mx2m double glazed doors in the middle of it.

The equipment is all in now and the next step is to apply some acoustic treatment but this is my first time trying this and I have read a lot of conflicting views as to the quantity, type and location of treatment and would welcome the views of people here that have been through this process before. Its is very hard to get a feel for how much treatment would be a real improvement. The response chart looks bad compared to some I have seen on here so clearly it does need lots of help. Ideally I would be looking for ready made products from the likes of GIK with DIY being a last result if something custom is required.

I have recently run the Room EQ software with a calibrated microphone and the results are attached.

The room is a dual purpose room, but there is space for bass traps on the front wall and providing it can me made to look good will be happy to put any diffusion/panels on the side and back walls.

I would be happy to add pictures of the room if this would help and or run more tests with different speaker positions.

Thanks in advance for any help and advice you can offer

Attachments

·
Premium Member
5,288 Posts
Check your sub phase - null at 80 looks like that might be fixable. Other than that you have a couple of peaks which are easier to EQ than nulls so then you can just work on reflections and decay times.

Maybe post some pics and/or a top view sketch of the room?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the response. I have attached a room layout which I hope will help.