Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
339 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well finally I was able to figure out how to properly calibrate my soundcard and mic, to have a refrence point to start with measurements. Then I added some room treatment and these are the results, I would like to thank all who gave advice.

Attachments

·
REW Author
6,711 Posts
I suspect that was due to using a 75 dB target level? For the data that was captured 85 dB would probably have been a more appropriate target, REW will estimate a suitable level if you use the 'Set Target Level' feature in the target shape panel of the EQ window.

·
Registered
339 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
John,
I am fairly new at this and barley know what I am doing, I thought you wanted a target value of 75db? Why would I want REW to estimate any values for me? What would be the point of that? What should my target value be? I think maybe I got something wrong and will have to start over.

·
REW Author
6,711 Posts
The target defines a shape the response should be aiming to achieve, which includes allowance for the capabilities of the speakers - for example, if the speakers can only manage 50 Hz there's no point having a target that is flat to 10 Hz as the speakers simply couldn't deliver it. The Target Settings panel in the EQ window let's you configure those aspects of the shape of the curve, like the low frequency limit of the speaker.