Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the Shack and am in need of some help. I have been in my home 3 years now and i have a dedicated room that is going to be my theater (17 feet wide x 27 feet deep x 8' ceiling). I have heard things from lots of people. Where does one start? Sub Woofer? Screen size? I'm lost.

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts
Hi Damon, Welcome to the Shack.
Your room dimensions are quite good but on the large size so for starters you will need a system with a bit of oomph.
Do you have a budget in mind?

·
Premium Member
3,777 Posts
Welcome Damon. I am glad you are starting your quest for the HT experience. If you could ask some specific questions and give us a budget, we can help. Have fun. Dennis

·
Registered
16 Posts
You should start with a basic budget, then add 10 to 20% for the unexpected, then an idea of what you want the room to provide.
Will it be a bit multi-purpose with a wet bar, etc?
Do you want to use a projector, flat panel, etc?
What sort of furniture do you want to use? Furniture lying around the house now or new? If you are planning and have room for rows of seating you need to think about a riser for the rear seats.

I would start looking at the Home Theater Gallery on this site, and perhaps others, for what others have done to get some ideas to get your imagination going.

This could be a lot of fun for you and us as we watch you progress and help in whatever way we can.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
no budget at the present time, would definitely like to use a pair of svs pb13 ultras. the rest i'm not sure .

·
Premium Member
3,777 Posts
You are right on with the SVS's. You should decide on which medium you want for tv. Projection, flat screen-plasma, lcd, etc. Is the room going to be dark enough for projection? Dennis

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
i am so lost as far as this whole project is concerned