Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
first off i am a newbie and learning about home audio. i need help choosing floorstanding and center speakers, i am all about watching movies and no music, i have a budget of $800 for all three and any help would be greatly appreciated.
what ive currently been looking at:
klipsch rc 52 or 62 center channel
klipsch rf 52 towers
again thank you.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
been reading up and see that most think that bookshelves are better for movie watching so i was thinking about klipsch rb61?

·
Registered
3,251 Posts
First of all ... Welcome :wave:

Couple of questions:

Do you have a subwoofer??? .... or, Are you planning to get one in the future???

Do you want a 5.1 or 7.1 system???

Can you strech your budget??? ... let's say, another $200-$300

I ask this because there's a system that has been getting good reviews ( SVS 5.1 ) ...as you can see. you'll get a complete system instead of just the front speakers ...:yes:

·
Registered
98 Posts
i agree with sal, if you can stretch your budget a little, the SVS system is hard to beat. If you don't have a sub, even if you buy floorstanders, you won't get that good low movie bass. How large is your room? Also, have you listened to the Klipsch's? Some people love em, and some hate em, so make sure to demo before buying if you decide to go that route.

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts
been reading up and see that most think that bookshelves are better for movie watching so i was thinking about klipsch rb61?
I disagree if you can afford them Towers or floor standers for the front are better. David mentioned SVS but if you really want a nice front sound stage I would up your budget a little bit and get maybe just the two front SVS MTS Towers first, (you can phantom the center channel to start with) they are $1400 but you wont be disappointed. Then later on get the matching MCS center for $569.