Home Theater Forum and Systems banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am very new to the world of A/V. I am about to move into my first home. I am planning on buying a protector for my new home. I have been doing some research on them, and I am confused in a few spots. I have been looking at buying the new Panasonic PT-AE4000U. I don't really want to go more expensive then it, but I do want 1080p.

Where I think I am confused is with the zoom lens and how that works with switching aspect ratios from 1.78 and 2.35. I am planning on a DIY screen with MDF, paint (Black Widow?), and felt for the boarder. The room will be my living room. Dimensions are 24'10" long, the wall I plan on putting the screen on is 9'2". I want to use the entire wall for the screen width wise. I plan on using 3" boarder on each side so about 104" across. I will be using this mostly after dark, so there should not be much light in the room. The walls and ceiling of the room are painted little darker then white, but not much, flat paint. The floor is tile, which is about a medium grey.

My main question is. With the zoom lens on this model, 2.0, can I build a screen that is 104" wide for 2.35 format and with just changing the zoom have it at 1.79 format without changing the 104" wide, just the height of the image changing? If this is possible, what should the throw distance be? What would be the optimal viewing distance? Am I crazy? :huh:

All information is appreciated. Links to other topics are great. Suggestions are welcome. I have yet to purchase anything besides the house. Thanks Matt

·
Registered
164 Posts