Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,
I'm new to the home theater thing and I was wondering if anyone could help me out deciding on my first components. First, the setup is going to include a Samsung 32" 720p tv, a playstation 3 (for music, games, and blue-ray), and that's about it actually. Baby steps haha. Anyway, I am looking for the following things to start out with (eventually working my way up to 5.1). The first things I would like to get are:

1. Suggestions on the best receiver for under 300 dollars?
2. Suggestions on the best floor standing speakers for under 300 dollars?

Can you guys help me with those two points to start off with?

Thanks a lot

·
Registered
3,251 Posts
First of all....Welcome to the forum :wave:

I am looking for the following things to start out with (eventually working my way up to 5.1). The first things I would like to get are:

1. Suggestions on the best receiver for under 300 dollars?
2. Suggestions on the best floor standing speakers for under 300 dollars?
Couple of questions: How big is your room??? ....How loud you will play the system??? ...Do you have a sub (in case that you go with just floorstanders)???

If this will be your first system, I suggest going with a HTIB :rubeyes: (I know that most are not to good, but the Onkyo's are acceptable :yes:).

Take a look at the HTS 6100 , is a complete system (just $94 above your budget); good thing is that you can upgrade the speakers little by little, not like other HTIB's that you need to replace everything to upgrade.

If you want to stick to your original plan, I suggest you to take a look at the Onkyo receivers and also look in the used market for good deals :T

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3