Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
266 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good evening ,

I am pretty new in the DIY world, and my first challenge is to build the SWOPE HT speaker system. Unfortunately there is not much detail regarding the diameter that need to be cut for the speakers.

So how do i determine the proper inside and outside dimension that i need to draw and cut to fit the speakers?

Alain

·
Registered
302 Posts
Go to the vendor site, Parts Express in this case, and follow the specifications tab. The PDF tells you to go to the mfr's web site, where you'll find this:
http://swanspeaker.com/products/products.aspx?cid=9&sid=57&pid=192

The drawing at the bottom shows a 116mm hole with a 140mm recess 6mm deep. Do the same thing for the tweeter and you'll get a similar result. However, it never hurts to actually measure your parts when they come.

Paul shows the driver layout on his web site for this design. He likely assumes that you can get the driver dimensional data as I describe above.
http://sites.google.com/site/undefinition/swope-ht

Welcome; I hope you have fun,
Frank

·
Premium Member
714 Posts
Rule #1 Never Ever Cut Holes Without Having The Driver In Your Hand.
Rule #2 Wait for the driver to arrive Before Cutting any holes.
Are you starting to see a theme here:T

·
Banned
31 Posts
buggers said:
Rule #1 Never Ever Cut Holes Without Having The Driver In Your Hand.
Rule #2 Wait for the driver to arrive Before Cutting any holes.
Are you starting to see a theme here:T
Sorry to hijack this thread but what is an easy way to measure and draw the circles for a subwoofer hole or speaker holes

·
Registered
3,069 Posts
hi there,

I made up one off these. Just divided the hole diameter in half and marked the points. Put a nail in one end and drill a hole for the pencil to go through on the other end. You need two holes, one for the outer baffle hole and one for the driver to sit on.