Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I want to build my own home theater. I bought a HTiB but i'm not satisfied with it, the sound and features mainly. This time I'm going to save up my money and set up a very great home theater. Though, I'm completely new to home theaters and have almost no idea what I'm doing. I do know a bit, but not a whole lot.

I have a question about receivers. I'm certain it's a dumb question, but I'm looking for the best blu ray receiver out there right now. When I buy it, will I be able to play dvd/blu ray movies off that receiver or do I have to buy a separate blu ray player ALONG with the receiver?

Now I need a suggestion. I'm looking for a receiver, that's not too expensive and not too cheap, that supports blu ray and has a lot of features(a good amount of hdmi 1.3 in/out and a good amount of component connections, ipod compatible). One more important feature I would like, if possible, is for the receiver to have a A/B switch(I think they're called). So I can have my living room speakers connected to the receiver and be able to switch a button and have my outdoor speakers playing through the receiver also.

My current HTiB has wireless rear speakers, that's why I got it. I need the rear surround sound speakers in the living room to be wireless. Would that be possible with receivers? If so, any suggestions on those?

Last question. I'm looking to buy 5.1 speakers along with the receiver. Would a 7.1 or 7.2 channel receiver be compatible and work with a 5.1 speaker set?

If you could suggest products that fit or come close to fitting my needs then that would be awesome because I really want to set up something like this in my house.

·
Registered
414 Posts