Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just completed by sonosub build (700 liters), FiCAR Q18, tuned to 13hz, powered by EP2500 (bridged mono) along with BFD1124.

As a newbie I am learning slowly but surely but here's my current status/situation...

I've taken some manual readings with my Digital RPL meter but several people have told me that I really need to use the REW software. So I went out and purchased the Creative USB Live Soundcard to hook up to my laptop.

I've been reading the Help Guides but quite frankly I'd like someone to walk me through it. Would anyone be willing to walk me through this software and how to use it over the phone?

Never hurts to ask....right?

thanks
Matt

Attachments

·
Friend of the Shack
1,356 Posts
I might actually be willing to do something like that...

Where are you with it right now? Do you have the PC connected to the receiver/preamp? That's the first step. Get REW installed and physicallly connected to the PC, so that it can do a sweep. You will take the line-out of the soundcard, using a stereo cable, to an analog input on your receiver. At that point, you should be able to generate "sounds" to your system via your PC.

Also, connect the SPL meter to the "line-in" (don't use "mic-in") of the soundcard. You will use a stereo plug to the soundcard, and it will have to break out to left and right. You will insert the SPL meter to one side of that (REW defaults to left, so just go in left). At that point, you should be able to measure sounds coming in the mic of the SPL meter (e.g., if you have the "SPL Meter" up on REW, it will jump if you clap your hands in front of the SPL meter).

Let's see if we can get that far, and then see what happens.

I don't suppose you're in Colorado?

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·