Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts
P

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I'm a newbie, and just starting to build my home theater. Right now, I have nothing that I would consider to be current technology. I can certainly use all of the help you can offer me. My house is already wired for 5.1 surround, but I do not have any speakers. While I would love to get some tower speakers, or even some of the larger bookshelf-type speakers, my wife will squash that idea. I could definitely do it in the next house we have, as I intend to make sure that there is a dedicated room for the home theater. For now (& the next 3-5 years), I am confined to building this in our main family room and need the best sound in the smallest package (I know that's a contradiction!).

We have a large, built-in entertainment center/cabinet/bookshelf that already has the 2 fronts and 1 center pre wired. Total height is around 14" for each of the spaces for the speakers, and width is around 20". Some of the speakers suggested would likely fit in the space, but I need them to be as discrete as possible.

I had looked at the smaller setups from Definitive and Mirage, and thought about exploring Klipsch since I see them mentioned so much in lots of discussions. I like a full, rich sound with my music (lots of classical as well as some modern "mainstream"). I don't like an overly bright sound, and can't stand for an unbalanced sound to lean towards too much treble.

Here's what limited equipment I do have:

*Tivo Series 2
*PS2
*Regular DVD player
*Regular Cable
*Sony 40" Tube TV, Standard def (bought in 2003)

For now, everything runs on component. However, I am looking into Direct TV HD or Comcast HD...assuming that this will have HDMI capabilities. Hopefully I will be looking into a flat screen HD TV over the next year...maybe a PS3 someday?? Just want a system that will accommodate my future upgrades for years to come!