Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts
H

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. I've been considering entering the realm of DIY Speaker building since the late 80's, but have lacked the space and resources until recently. (I still have some old issues of Speaker Builder Magazine from 89!) Anyway, I've recently gotten more serious in my pursuit and have slowly assembled all necessary tools to complete my mission (Bosch 4100 table saw, Craftsman plunge router, etc.) I'm a fairly competant woodworker who is many years out of practice, but eager to restart.
The primary obstical I'll need to overcome involves crossover design and assembly. Quite frankly, I'm very ignorant to all but the most basic details of this topic. I've seen many detailed schematics and photos throughout this site, but I have no idea what does what or why. (I don't even know what all the squiggly lines mean!:gah:) It's possible, if provided a crossover BOM, I may be able to construct a copy that may or may not work, but I'd like to gain a much better understanding of what I'm gettin in to. I know how to solder from years of racing electric RC vehicles, but that's the only feather in my cap when it comes to crossover construction.
I just purchased the Louspeaker Design Cookbook from Madisound, which I'm sure may help my cause, but any additional resources will be greatly appreciated. I know I'm way out of my league in terms of diy and general audio knowledge, so thanks in advance for your help and your patience.
ps- I've preformed quite a few different searches on varous forums, but nothing I've found breaks down the topic on a "101" type level. Thanks again!

·
Registered
91 Posts
youll have your hands full with your new book "loudspeaker design cookbook",its got a good crossover chapter, but if you want more than that without purchasing more books try a broad google search of "passive crossover", ive found a lot of good sites. some are advanced, but some are "101" good luck