Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I'm very new in the A/V world, and I was looking to get a home theatre system. All this time I thought the home theatre systems sold as package deals were pretty much it. meaning that I'm used to seeing those tiny square speakers (i think they differ from bookshelf ask they look much smaller) that attach to the walls. Now that I read this section, I guess there are 2 standards, bookshelf and floor standing. I also read that speakers should generally stand 2 feet away from walls, but how does one normally install bookshelf speakers? I would rather keep speakers off the floor and at first I thought bookshelf speakers literally mean they stand on bookshelf's built into the wall. Any advice would greatly be appreciated .

·
Registered
122 Posts
Hello all,

I'm very new in the A/V world, and I was looking to get a home theatre system. All this time I thought the home theatre systems sold as package deals were pretty much it. meaning that I'm used to seeing those tiny square speakers (i think they differ from bookshelf ask they look much smaller) that attach to the walls. Now that I read this section, I guess there are 2 standards, bookshelf and floor standing. I also read that speakers should generally stand 2 feet away from walls, but how does one normally install bookshelf speakers? I would rather keep speakers off the floor and at first I thought bookshelf speakers literally mean they stand on bookshelf's built into the wall. Any advice would greatly be appreciated .