Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie here, so if I've posted to the wrong forum, please direct me appropriately.

My listening setup for 2.1 audio is as follows:

FLAC source over wired Ethernet, into
Raspberry Pi B+ with HiFiBerry DIGI+, running XBMC, Toslink, into
NAD C390DD amp, into
Pair of Axiom M80 towers and 12" SVS sub

Astute readers will observe that the entire signal path remains in the digital domain until the last possible moment, just before delivering analog to the speakers. When I use my laptop as source, I play FLAC files via JRiver Media Center through USB to the NAD amp using a NAD supplied driver.

The NAD amp can be characterized as a DAC with USB/Toslink/Coax inputs and a (class D?) power amp inside one box.

I have more or less established best speaker and listening positions wrt room dimensions.

Now I wish to adjust amp and sub parameters to optimize room performance. The sub has variable crossover, gain and phase adjustments. The amp can boost/cut at 6 different frequencies from 40 to 240 hz and in narrow or wide mode for each. A fair bit of adjustment to do by ear alone. With everything set to zero, I sense that the result is less than optimal.

I have installed REW on my laptop and have played with sweeps using laptop microphone and USB out to the C390DD.