Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts
T

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here folks - Hi !

Just got a new Onkyo 606. It replaces and old Yamaha 5.1 setup and is using the same Polk fronts, Bose rears, whatever Center and Yamaha sub. It's connected to my Samsung BDP 1400 Blu Ray player and HDTV all via HDMI.

Now, here's my problem:

When playing a TrueHD Blu-Ray disk (output is bitstream from the player), the 606 detects TrueHD. But, the rear surrounds have almost nothing coming out of them.
When using normal Dolby 5.1, the rears blast. So I think I'm setup OK.
What could be causing the rear 2 speakers to behave this way. Even the "THS" intro on the same movie blasts out of all the speakers - sounds intimidating if you ask me!

Is it the player, the movie disk or the 606? Where do I start? Two other TrueHD Blu-Ray disks behave in exactly the same way. (Dark Knight, Indiana Jones and Hunt for Red October - all with TrueHD).

Would a firmware upgrade to the player possibly solve this? Is this a known issue with the Onkyo 606 product line?

Well, thanks for listening! :nerd:

Tony

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts
Welcome to the Shack Tony,

Is your receiver saying TruHD on the display? If so then I suspect that you have either the speakers plugged into the wrong terminals on the back of the receiver (are you using a 5.1 speaker setup) or if you have a 7.1 speaker setup your only sending the receiver the 5.1 audio from the BluRay player.

T

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
I have a 5.1 setup (I hope) and the Blu-Ray player is sending out 5.1 bitstream audio. The 606 is detecting TrueHD on its display.
I'm confused that IF I have things setup wrong, why does normal Dobly 5.1 sound ok coming out of the FM stereo on the 606 rears and why is the THX ad on the same movie blaring away on all the channels?

I'm open to suggestions.

Tony