Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
280 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just took it out of the box where it had been waiting for a few months before the HT was complete. Picture great, no complaints and we watched our first movie. But it was with the speakers all putting out the same sound, no surround or anything. So I started playing with the options for listening and found one I liked.

Then I thought I probably needed to set the DVD player for optimum sound, etc. Went through and messed with some stuff that looked like it needed messing with, and then no sound at all.

I reset the receiver and ran Audessey again.

I've gone back to reset the DVD player and then it works. But now I have to go and reset the DVD player every time I want to watch a movie so I can have sound.

Any ideas on what I did?

·
Premium Member
8,112 Posts
Just took it out of the box where it had been waiting for a few months before the HT was complete. Picture great, no complaints and we watched our first movie. But it was with the speakers all putting out the same sound, no surround or anything. So I started playing with the options for listening and found one I liked.

Then I thought I probably needed to set the DVD player for optimum sound, etc. Went through and messed with some stuff that looked like it needed messing with, and then no sound at all.

I reset the receiver and ran Audessey again.

I've gone back to reset the DVD player and then it works. But now I have to go and reset the DVD player every time I want to watch a movie so I can have sound.

Any ideas on what I did?
Hello,
So long as your speakers are properly connected and your DVD player is configured to bitstream to the Onkyo, you should not have to reset your DVD player. The Onkyo should be decoding the codecs (Dolby Digital, DTS).