Home Theater Forum and Systems banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

· Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,

I have been out of the AV Scene a long time & am now just about trying to get back into things - please note, I am not very technically savvy - more of a Monkey See, Monkey Do situation with me so please bear this in mind!

AVR is Connected to a 5.1.2 Speaker System in the following configuration: Right & Left Main Fronts, Centre, Right & Left Rear Surrounds & In Ceiling Top Middle Position Height Speakers. All Speakers have a nominal impedance of 4-8 Ohms except the In Ceiling Top Middle Speakers which are 8 Ohms.

All Speakers are connected properly & produce sound when playing a Multi Channel Movie - for example when watching a Surround Sound movie on Amazon Firestick.

ISSUE:

1) Each time, I attempt to run the Onkyo AccuEQ Calibration process, at some point during the Calibration, the AV Receiver switches it self off.

2) The Calibration process runs smoothly when testing Subwoofer, Right Main, Left Main & Centre Speaker.

3) Upon testing either of the Rear Surrounds or the In-Ceiling Top Middle Speakers, the process is terminated as the AV Receiver for some reason keeps switching off. This can be with any one of the speakers & not any particular order during the Calibration process.

4) Upon manually switching the AV Receiver On again, it shows on display as doing a Diagnostic Check.

5) When the Diagnostic Check is complete, the AVR Display usually shows the message: “Check Speaker Wire”

6) Upon checking Speaker Wires connected to back of AV Receiver, all are correctly & firmly connected.

7) I have to then manually Switch Off the AV Receiver again & it then operates as normal with no “Check Speaker Wire” message.