Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I admit to being a newbie to all of this. Thanks to this site I now have my iPod sounding better, my Wii playing in all of its upconverted glory (it really is a better picture) and my sound settings are correct - I think.

I have some remaining issues - and please bear with me as I am a rookie.

I have a 5.1 setup and two zone two speakers in another room. All of the speakers and the subwoofer are running fine/producing sounds. I have a DVD player and a Cable/Satellite box both running to the receiver by HDMI, and an HDMI out to a Samsung HD TV. The Wii has a HD component cable which I have running to the receiver with an assigned video input. The Ipod is connected by the headphone jack to the tape input. So, the only input to the TV is the HDMI out from the receiver. Does this all sound correct?

The speaker setup protocol with the microphone is not working for me. It detects the front speakers, the center speaker and looks for side surround speakers - I don't have those. It then registers the right rear speaker, and does not find the left. The test then fails. Suggestions? As an alternative I have set the speakers "by hand." If I have to do that, what is the best crossover setting for the five individual speakers? The two fronts and the center are medium sized bookshelf speakers. The back two are "in the wall." I have a nice Yamaha powered sub.