Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Premium Member
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello folks-

I’ve been experimenting with REW for a few months now, and I thought I would track my progress in optimizing my two NHT Xd setups in a thread here on the Shack. My setup so far is pretty modest- a Dell XPS M1530 laptop, a Radio Shack 33-2050 SPL meter, and some assorted cabling. I’ve had fun experimenting with my setup, though, and I hope to keep learning and making the system sound better. By the way, if I’m treading on some rules or customs in the way I describe things or show measurements, please let me know. I haven’t been reading the forum all that long, so I’m sure there are things I’ll need to adjust.

For some background on the Xd concept itself, here’s a link to the Stereophile review of the NHT Xd. There used to be a page on the NHT site about the system, but it seems to have gone missing (no doubt a casualty of the system’s discontinuation). One wrinkle of optimizing this system, outside of the active nature of its crossovers, is the ability to load different filters via the XdA’s USB port. I’ll show some measurements of the standard filters NHT offers below.

Here is one picture of my main system using 2 XdS satellites and 2 XdW subwoofers. The actual location of each can vary according to the week and my latest measurements.

My optimization strategy has essentially three pieces:

1. Adjusting the relative positions of the XdS/XdW modules for proper phase response in the short crossover range. The crossover point I’m usually using is high enough that the units must be essentially collocated, and the crossover slopes are very steep.
  2. Positioning the XdW units to best interact with room modes in the bass region.
  3. Where EQ is needed, custom filters from the folks at Audio Consulting Services (a group of former NHT engineers who are pretty handy at creating custom filters for the XdA module).