Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first build and first time putting together a crossover, so I'm sorry for the total noob questions in advance. I purchased the kit from Meniscus and they provided a layout for the crossover, but I still need some clarifications as follows:

1. The layout (attached) has the inductors at 90 degrees (one standing, one laying flat) but they are still in-line with one-another on the board. I read one tip that said when you look through the hole of the standing coil, you should not be able to see the other. Should I be looking for an alternate layout?

2. In terms of connections, I've drawn in what I think I need to do (again, see attached). Could someone confirm that I have this correct?

3. How do I ground this? Do I need to ground this?

Thanks for your help, I have my cabinets assembled and I'm going to try my hand at veneering later this week. I'm really enjoying this build so far except the WAF hasn't been stellar. Hopefully they will look and sound great so that WAF increases enough for me to try another project...

-Carbon13

Attachments

·
Premium Member
1,923 Posts
Welcome to HTS!

I would agree with the rule of thumb you are referencing, I have heard it too. I'd turn your .35mH coil 90 degrees. Concern alleviated.

By visually inspecting your circuit, I see: 2nd order electrical LPF on the woofer with a tanking cap, and a 3rd order electrical HPF and L-pad attenuator on the tweeter . Is this what your plans describe? If so, you are good to go :T

And no, do NOT ground anything in your crossover. Leave it as if it were floating inside your speaker, the only connections are + and - to your amp outputs.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for your reply. I'm glad to know I was on the right track.