Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie, so be gentle. Searched around a bit, but thought someone could point me in the right dirction. In a couple months we'll be moving into a new house with an unfinished basement. One plan is to set-up a home theater on a budget now, then a nicer one once we decide to finish the basement when the kids get older...or after they move out. So, the question is, is it possible to paint the screen onto the poured concrete basement walls with good results? Please let me know if you have any information, tips, techniques, pointers, or pictures on this.

Also, I'm planning on going with ViewSonic PJD5523w WXGA DLP Projector and the Onkyo HT-S5400 7.1-Channel Home Theater System.
Let me know if you have any experience with those.
Did I mention this project is on a budget?
Looking forward to learning a lot on this forum.

Thanks in advance,
Justin

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
How big of a screen? I'd think it would be better to use a substrate. Poured concrete walls are rarely smooth.
Thanks for the reply. What do you mean by substrate? I'm not counting on the walls to be smooth, there will be some pits and seams to deal with. Thought somebody might have an easy, or effective, method of smoothing it out. Not exactly sure what size yet, possibly around 200".

·
Banned
14,914 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,620 Posts
You really want it smooth, perfectly smooth if you can. Otherwise, all the images will have the texture of the wall on them - not good. A while back folks were using some brand of plastic for screens with good results. Good idea to look in the DIY screen forum.

If you can add it to your budget, Carada makes very good quality fixed screens at reasonable prices. I have one of ther 102" models and am very well pleased with it.