201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi!

Here is a quick overview:

High power Sub required for mostly music, but also games and movies
Small amount of availiable space
Flexible on the amplifier as I will be buying this afterwards
This is my first build

I believe I have found a solution which will suit my needs. It was constructed by Adrian Mack and can be viewed here:

http://www.geocities.com/adrian_mack/

My question for you is, is this a good system that he has built? Since all the details are posted on his website it doesnt seem like it would be too difficult to replicate. Is it a good idea to have a go at building this, or are there better solutions out there?

Regards,

James

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Also something that makes things slightly more complicated is it seems like his selection of speakers / subs arnt being made anymore. Is it as simple as using the new releases of the companies products, or would all of the sizes / weighting need to be recalculated to reflect the different model?

·
Registered
369 Posts
Creative sound solutions offers kits for 8", 10" 12" and 15" small subs using passive radiators. Check them out here.

http://www.creativesound.ca/products.php?make=CSS

Just remember if budget is a big constraint for you that a passive radiator sub will always be more expensive than a ported or sealed sub, after all, nice, large PRs aren't exactly cheap, and the only major advantage is the box will be smaller. Usually if floor space is the main issue, and you don't have wife acceptance factor to worry about you can just make the thing narrow but tall and port it out the top.

Also if you look in the members subs database I believe there are a few other PR builds, and if you want to go really small Roman has a super small PR sub on his website at http://www.rjbaudio.com