Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All

I have been told this is the right forum for this question. I have connected my Pc to my HDTV using a DVI/HDMI adapter and a HDMI cable to the HDTV. While i can watch films on the HDTV i only have sound on the PC. Can anyone suggest how to get around this. Please be patient with me as I am a complete novice at this. Thanking you in advance :demon:

·
Moderator Emeritus
3,772 Posts
Hi All

I have been told this is the right forum for this question. I have connected my Pc to my HDTV using a DVI/HDMI adapter and a HDMI cable to the HDTV. While i can watch films on the HDTV i only have sound on the PC. Can anyone suggest how to get around this. Please be patient with me as I am a complete novice at this. Thanking you in advance :demon:
Do you mean that the sound isn't being passed to the TV from the PC?

What video card do you have in the PC?

·
Friend of the Shack
1,356 Posts
Hi All

Hi Demonseed.

Well, if you use a DVI/HDMI adapter, that might be your problem. DVI doesn't support audio, so although you were able to send that signal down an HDMI cable, there's no audio data there in the first place. That might be one reason.

You also say that you have sound on the PC. What exactly does that mean? You can hear the audio through the little junky PC speaker? Or can you hear audio through powered PC speakers connected to an analog audio output? Or, I suppose, a digial audio output?

It's also possible that the sound is turned all the way down, or is muted, at the PC (though you can hear it elsewhere). Perhaps just one output is muted.

For now, I'm gonna go with number 1, though -- if you're using a native DVI output, there's just no audio signal there.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hi Harpmaker

The sound isn't being passed to the TV from the PC and video card Radeon 300x550x1050 Series. Thanks for the reply :demon:

·
Registered
15 Posts