Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi guys

Got a couple questions for somebody out there...

1)I was wondering if anybody knew what brands of speakers ( Polk, Paradigm eg) use Peerless.

2) Is Peerless still overseen by the Dutch engineers since moving to Asia?

3) Do you think they are worth the price differential over other brands such as Dayton for example.

I've been toying with the idea of designing my own speakers and being a complete novice, I would love some input.

I've sold speakers for a living for years (that business is almost dead now) and I've seen and heard just about everything out there except the ultra exotics. I'd like to try my hand at the business of making my own set of speakers and again, would love some input.

The name of the game is building a very good speaker for a reasonable price (whatever reasonble means). If cost is no object then just go buy a pair of Utopias and be done with it :)

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
16 Posts
Hello JBL Fan: I once built a pair of JBL S-8 Studio Monitors with plans I purchased from JBL since at the time this configuration was not commercially available. I later heard Magnapans and loved the open sound, so designed an active crossover and added a subwoofer to handle the lower bass of which Magies are more than a bit short. Due to a WAF issue and a new house I had to get smaller speakers, so bought Watt/Puppies (had even a lower WAF but were shorter). I then heard the Orion speakers (which use Peerless woofers) and now have what I loved about the Magnapans and more clean bass than I ever imagined. If you want a place to start in building your own speakers, the documentation is available from Linkwitz Labs. You also live near the person who makes the active crossovers used with these speakers and I know he offers auditions of his Orion speakers. He is also a recording engineer, so you may get more information than expected.
Don

·