Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a newbie and I am getting ready to build my first sub in about 15 years and I don't know much about either one of these companies. I was wondering if the Peerless 830500 XLS 12" Subwoofer or the Dayton RSS315HO-4 12" Reference HO Subwoofer would be better for a ported HT/Music Sub.

Thanks, This place rocks!

·
Premium Member
19,397 Posts
Both are good subs although they have limited excursion (Xmax) for HT. The Peerless requires a small cabinet, porting is best done with a passive radiator which would add to the cost. A little more info would help in recommending the best solution for you.

Budget for sub and an amp?

Maximum box size that is acceptable?

How big is the room, is it sealed or open to other areas?

Low end output expectations?

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I think my size limit would be around 6 cu ft. My room is not large, (12 X 18) but does join an open area. My budget would be about $450 for the speaker and amp.

·
Premium Member
19,397 Posts
A Dayton Titanic 15 in a 24 inch external cube powered by a O-Audio 500 watt amp with two 4 inch flared ports.

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=295-420&AID=10624738&PID=2777698

http://www.oaudio.com/500W_SUBAMP.html

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=268-352&AID=10624738&PID=2777698

$220 for the sub plus shipping, $229 for the amp with free shipping. A pair of 4 inch flared ports is $28. It's a few dollars over your $450 budget but you can save on the ports by building a slot port which is simple enough. This would be the best bang for the buck for your room size.

Titanic15.JPG

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks! I am afraid that a 15" might be too much for my room but I am not so well versed in this area. What about the Titanic 12" with the Dayton Plate amp? Would I be dissapointed with this setup?

·
Registered
24 Posts