Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Im looking for advise on what PEQ filter I need to flatten out the response of my DIY sealed Dayton UM18. I thought ARC was going to take care of it but it did exactly what it is suppose to do and it flattened out the peaks but didn't really change the response of the sub (which I want in this case). I have a MiniDSP hooked up so I can apply PEQ, the only thing is I have no experience with PEQ so Im not sure exactly what filter to use. Any suggestions? Im thinking center 60hz, -6 - 10db, 80hz width?

This graph is from the MLP post ARC but I would apply this filter and then re run arc.

Thanks!

Attachments

·
Registered
1,208 Posts
I would start by purchasing a calibrated mic , like the MiniDSP , from Parts Express ($85).. The download REW (free from Home Theater Shack) and you'll get to measure your subs response - then REW will generate a correction filter for you that can be saved as a file and imported into MiniDSP / PEQ ..... this will save you from alot of guess work... Easy instructions on this procedure are readily available...

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I would start by purchasing a calibrated mic , like the MiniDSP , from Parts Express ($85).. The download REW (free from Home Theater Shack) and you'll get to measure your subs response - then REW will generate a correction filter for you that can be saved as a file and imported into MiniDSP / PEQ ..... this will save you from alot of guess work... Easy instructions on this procedure are readily available...