Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. Newbie here. I have a 6-7 year-old Philips 55PP9502 with some convergence issues.

On New Year's eve I noticed the "rainbows" at the upper corners of the screen and on the bottom. The green was off. On the customer menu only red and blue can be adjusted. So I got into the service menu and was able to "reset to factory defaults" which fixed the green. I was then able to line up the red and blue to the green. It lasted until a few days ago. Now I can't adjust the green at all. Same issue with it bowing up in the upper corners and bowing up in a couple of spots at the bottom. There are no other symptoms. No popping, etc.

I don't have soldering/desoldering tools so I was thinking of just ordering a whole new convergence board. I found it on the andrewselectronics website for $80.

Just I just go ahead, order it, and swap it out? Labeling the connections as I go of course. Or could this just be a bad connection? We use our TV a lot and it is getting older so I'm thinking that an IC and/or resistor has probably failed.

Thanks.

·
Plain ole user
11,121 Posts
Your thread was moved to the proper forum and renamed to maintain forum organization. This makes it possible for others to find information more easily in the future.

Before you order, verify with Andrews that you are getting the right board. You will need to be careful to record any suffixes on the model number and the complete chassis number. Be sure that it is the board with the output ICs and not the convergence generator.

We never replace boards in these units, and doing so can be problematic in Philips products due to the difficulty in making sure you have the right part numbers.

I suggest you read the first ten posts in the convergence thread that you originally posted your message in.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3