Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
Very informative, very intelligent group that is assembled here! I hope that I can add to the knowledge with equipment that I'm more familiar with than this one. I'm resurrecting a 51" rptv that I think I would like to manually converge before doing the electrical convergence. Here is the question...I need to know which of the three rings on each of the three crt's to adjust. In standard color sets, those would be purity rings, but this is my first time inside a projection tv and I am ignorant about how to align the crt's for convergence. Can someone guide me on this? I have scoured the SM and the user instructions but I don't have any detail about the yoke assembly. Thanks!

·
Plain ole user
11,121 Posts
I assume you are talking about the magnet assembly between the yoke and the crt board. I am not certain about your set specifically, but the rings are used to shape the beam and you will find that one set usually centers the spot, one set shapes it.

The set of rings on the yoke are used to position the image and should not need to be adjusted in most cases.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks, I was hoping you'd answer. I want to make the convergence the best I can. They used to say my tv's looked almost 3d when I got done with them in the shop, years ago...
Anyway, I have put up an X of thread running from corner to corner of the screen so I can locate the center. Shouldn't I do a static convergence with the magnet structure on the yokes prior to doing the electrical convergence in the menus? I have had to change the convergence ICs and a couple of open resistors, and I don't know what the guy before me did, but he was not a 'tech'. He was a DIYer and he failed, which is why I got the set.
Should I just go to the customer menus and converge as best as I can?