Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello!

I am very new to all of this; just got my own place after graduating. I bought a set of samsung speakers (5 speakers + subwoofer) from a second hand store about two years ago pretty cheap with a mind to use them once I got where I am now. Yesterday I found a pioneer receiver at a local pawn shop. I had read about resistance and power ratings a bit, and this receiver said it would do 350W (not sure per-channel), and could be configured down to 6 ohms. I figured 6 ohms was close enough to 3 (for the speakers), and I got it for $90. The model numbers for both are below.

I now have two essentially unrelated questions pertaining to the use of this equipment together...

1. Can I power these speakers safely with this receiver? How? If not, which one should I pitch and replace? I'm worried about price point more than the optimal/highest fidelity system, but if something's going to burn out I definitely want to be safe. This is an exerpt from the receiver's manual...

Amplifier section
Continuous average power output of 90
watts* per channel, min., at 8 ohms, from
20 Hz to 20 000 Hz with no more than
0.2 %** total harmonic distortion.
Front (stereo) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .90 W + 90 W
Power output (1 kHz, 6 Ω, 0.05 %, 1 ch driven)
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 120 W per channel
Guaranteed speaker impedance
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16 Ω to 8 Ω,
less than 8 Ω to 6 Ω (setting required)​

2. The subwoofer (also marked 3ohms) accepts a bare speaker wire, but the subwoofer out on the back of the receiver is marked "pre out" (I assume pre-amplification), and is an RCA cable. Does this mean this receiver assumes that there is an amp in the subwoofer? Is there any kind of workaround for this?

Thanks for your replies!

Reciever: Pioneer VSX-1019AH-K

Speakers:
1. Front(both): PS-FTX72
2. Back(both): PS-RTX72