Home Theater Forum and Systems banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HI all,
As I am only new to the Shack im not sure if im doing this right or not so apologies if not. My question is about my Pioneer receiver which ive had for about 12 months now and cannot seem to get any bass from the centre speaker and as a result the dialogue seems like its in mono in comparrason to the rest of the soundtrack its driving me crazy i even bought new speakers and still no joy i thought i was ok at setting up a receiver untill i bought this amp please can anyone help?

·
Premium Member
5,423 Posts
Welcome to the Shack. I'm sure we can give you a hand :)
Just off the top of my head, it sounds like you have a crossover setting issue. Does your receiver allow you to set different crossovers for your mains, center and surrounds?

I'd also suggest you re-post your question in our "Home Theater Receivers | Processors | Amps" or "System Setup and Connection" areas.

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts
Hello Keal, Welcome aboard the Shack!

If you post your question here you will get alot more responses but Ill give you some ideas.

Check the user menu of the receiver under speaker settings and make sure you dont have the crossover set too high. Generally 80Hz is where most people have it set at.

·
Premium Member
8,112 Posts
Hello,
Keal, welcome to HomeTheaterShack. What kind of Speakers are you using?
Cheers,
JJ

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hi Mark,
No I only have one crossover setting which I have set to 80hz and all my speakers are set to small I have 3 mission 78s for my front and centre speakers and 4 small sony pascal speakers at the rear i also have the sony sub that came with the sony speakers and my old sony receiver which was fine but i upgraded to the pioneer for hdmi connection but ive being trying for the last year to get the centre speaker to sound as i know it should i think its a bit to technical for me!!:scratch:

·