Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings to all
I'm new to home theater topic, albeit have a very general acoustics understanding (due to engineering background).
I'm doing a renovation in our condo, there will be entertainment cabinets in "float" design on the wall underneath the TV, the cabinet will be raised above the floor by ~8" fixed to the wall. Due to decor constrains and also due to having pets I've chosen downwards firing sub of DALI E-9F that will have to be enclosed inside the rightmost cabinet that is approx 8-10" from the room side wall.
I'll be doing a failry large hole in the cabinet bottom to allow the sub port to fire onto the floor, however not sure what to do with the driver (9" driver). There are two options:
1. Leave the entire unit inside with the appropriate hole at the bottom for the port (so that the driver will work against cabinet inside wall
2. Cut a large opening at the side of the cabinet wall and position the unit so that the driver would work against that opening allowing approx. 10" to the room side wall

In both cases there will be the appropriate opening at the bottom of the cabinet for the port of course.

So that question is whether is is necessary to allow the driver to breathe outside or it is not necessary, the port opening is enough ?

What do you think ?

·
HTS Moderator , Reviewer
3,335 Posts
I vote for option 3: none of the above. :D

Placing a subwoofer in an enclosure is never advisable, for several reasons. It's virtually impossible to eliminate cabinet resonance, meaning something will ultimately rattle. The restrictions in space will often lead to a compromise in sound quality and quantity as well. Lastly, the amp is cooled strictly by convection. Limit the air movement and you're likely to have problems, ranging from thermal shutdowns, compromised longevity or even fire hazard in extreme cases.