Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
It's just four bare walls for now... 4" clay brick backed by 5" reinforced concrete. I need sound and video advice about positioning etc. I already have an old 5.1 sony system. Want to start with that since the construction is going to suck up the budget... will upgrade later on... It would be nice to scalability...

I read in a post that if I put a sofa against the back wall I will have bass problems... is it true?

·
Premium Member
8,367 Posts
If that is your equipment rack next to the screen, then I would advise moving towards the back wall..
The lights from the equipment will be quite distracting while watching a movie and the area around the screen needs to be as dark as possible..

·
Registered
3 Posts
I'm very new to this, but as a carpenter I've learned the hard way to plan ahead cause you can't move walls and things built into walls so easily :) That, and my wife really gets upset when I punch holes in them (but I always fix em).

This is regarding your AV Rack and I'm hoping a more skilled person can provide additional details.
I'd consider moving it away from the wall to wall corner only because you might want to put some sound absorption or even bass traps there in the future if your bass doesn't sound like you want it to.

Also, is the rack set into the wall?

If so, and you have access to the walls, think of EVERY cable you'll ever use (then double them), and run them when the walls are not in! If the walls are in, before you start running cables, do this exercise too and then just run them all at once. I sure wish I did....

·
Registered
581 Posts
If that is your equipment rack next to the screen, then I would advise moving towards the back wall..
The lights from the equipment will be quite distracting while watching a movie and the area around the screen needs to be as dark as possible..