Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can I plot amplifier frequency using Room Equalization Wizard? It seems to be a microphone based application. I would need to go about the process differently for accurate measurements.

·
Super Moderator
9,252 Posts

The frequency response of electronic components with inputs and outputs can be measured using the loopback function (a.k.a. Soundcard Calibration). Perhaps those with more electronics experience than I have can comment, but I see no reason why it wouldn’t work for an amplifier too, provided you have a soundcard that can take the high input wattage, and a dummy load is used on the amplifier.

(Edit - just noticed you're talking about a tube amp. I know nothing about them, this might be a bad idea.)

Regards,
Wayne

·
Registered
2,261 Posts
I am not an expert. Please use the info in this post at your own risk!

Check pg.105 of this REW guide for measuring pre-outs. As Wayne suggested, someone with more experience might pipe in, but I believe you'd need to set the Windows microphone control low enough as to not overload the input back to REW. Even so, I also believe you'd still be in danger of damaging the input, because power amplifier output voltages are much higher than line-level ones, limited only by their power supplies. So if your amp has +/-40V rails, then it can develop slightly less than that at its outputs. Certainly enough to destroy a delicate sound card input. You might be able to string a few resistors in series as a properly-rated load, which would allow a sufficiently low voltage to be tapped-off, but once again - I'm no expert.

·
Registered
18 Posts
I use REW for noise floor and distortion response with the spectrum analyser. So far I've only used the Measurement loopback for determining the frequency response of my USB soundcard and signal probing preamp and probes, but it would work for any equipment within the loop back path.