Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking at building a ported Tempest-X2 to go with the two Kepler's I'm going to build.

I'm thinking about doing something like Neo Dan's easy button end table or something of the sort. I'm a college student so no WAF to worry about but it needs to be transportable so I'm thinking anything up to 8ft^3 is ok. Is it best to just go for the 8ft^3 slot ported box or would it be better to go with a smaller box and add some fill. I'm open to suggestions.

I'm also open to suggestions regarding a pro amp.

At this point I'm looking at buying a Yamaha P2500S to power the sub, it looks like a good match.
(http://www.yamaha.com/yamahavgn/CDA/ContentDetail/ModelSeriesDetail.html?CNTID=15252&CTID=227600&ATRID=20&DETYP=ATTRIBUTE#)
I imagine the Tempest can handle the 1300w at 4 ohms but I'd like to make sure before I blow it up.

I should mention that I've also purchased a Reckhorn B-1 to use as a high pass/low pass as the Yamaha RX-797 this sub will be connected to does not have a variable crossover for the sub out, so the HPF is taken care of.

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Well I placed an order yesterday for one Tempest-X2.

Right now I'm looking at 7ft^3 tuned to about 21hz. There are 3 ports 2.5"x6"x39". BassBox says the port should be 39" to tune the box to 21hz but WinIsd says 36" so I'm not sure what it should really be. The port should add strength but I might need some more bracing. The external dimensions of the box are 24"x27"x30" (WxHxL).

This is the model using a 24db high pass at 17hz on the Reckhorn B-1.

What'ya guys think?

·
Banned
1,074 Posts
why 3 ports instead of 1? why 21Hz..what you using it for? Other than that...loooks awesome! Build pics for sure! I got rid of my BBP6, don't even miss it. Stick with ISD IMHO :T

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)