Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'm a total newbie to projectors and screens. I got very cool all in one projector for my birthday and then realized it didn't have lens shift on it nor was it 1080p so we exchanged it for the Epson 8350 so we can use it at an angle.

The room that its going in is large. It's 24' x 24'. The seating is currently 20' away from the wall which I want to use as a screen until I get a screen.

The questions are.

Should I keep the Epson 8350 22' away (depth of projector takes out a foot +) from the screen and mount it in the room's corner?
If so, what screen size would be best?

Should I put the projector on a small cart and roll it out when in use?
If so, how far away should I keep it (it will be at an angle either way)

So in general, what size screen should I be using and how far should the projector be away?

I can go from 10' to 22' away, will be using it at an angle.

So recap:
What screen size?
How far away?
Any brand recommendations / site recommendations?

·
Banned
14,914 Posts
Welcome to the Home Theater Shack! :T

Screen size will depend upon the projector's specs/placement and your personal preferences. How tall is the ceiling? What color are the walls and ceiling? Do you plan on having all of the lights off when viewing or will there be some ambient light?

With regards to placement, I'd try to get the projector closer than 22'. The farther away you are - the farther the pj has to throw the image - the dimmer that image will be when it hits the screen. There is a standard for brightness and it is 12-16fL. For a 106" (the smallest you could go at that distance) 1.0 gain screen at 22', you are right at 12fL.

I would suggest attempting to get the projector closer to the screen - somewhere in the 15' range would be good. A 120" 1.0 gain screen with the pj at 15' would give you 15fL. That gives you a bit of headroom for when your bulb dims.