Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am getting ready to buy all the "equipment" needed to check out my speakers and integrate an IB subwoofer. I plan to get a Sound Blaster live external USB card for my laptop and a BFD. My question is about mics and SPL meters. I am new to this and it is a bit confusing. Could someone explain to me the pros and cons of the ECM8000 mic and Galaxy CM-140 or CM-130 SPL meters? Is there any other support equipment required with either one? I assume the SPL can be used by itself to check sound levels while the ECM8000 needs to be used with a sound card and PC to read a sound level. (But it is a lot less expensive) Do both do a similar job for the whole frequency spectrum of 15hz to 20khz? Is one easier to use than the other?
Thank you.

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts
Hello Dave,
The CM-130 SPL meter does not have a line output and thus can not be used with REW or any other software that requires the direct hookup to the SPL Meter. The CM 140 is the best low cost option for a meter as the radio shack meter is not accurate above about 12,000Hz and has some issues below that.
The ECM8000 is a good mic but as you still require an SPL meter your spending allot more than you need to.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The ECM8000 is a good mic but as you still require an SPL meter your spending allot more than you need to.
Does this mean that you cannot use the ECM8000 directly with REW rather than the CM-140? Or in other words, is the output from the two devices different?
Thank you for your insight and help

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts
REW needs some sort of reference point to know what is 75db without a db Meter you would have to guess and thats not always the easiest thing to do.

·
Registered
7,514 Posts
in other words, is the output from the two devices different?
Well, the CM-140 is a line-level device and can be used stand alone.