Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, it's an achievement on it's own, I think?

Hi all,

I'm a graduating sound engineer student, living at home with dad, and I'm building a home theater!

Well, rebuilding, actually. A couple of years ago I bought a BenQ projector, nothing to special, but coming from a 19" PC screen, going to a 70+ inch screen, was quite the change...
Now a good month ago, that BenQ's DLP chip was starting to show alot of dead pixels, like a cluster on the upper right corner. At first, they went away after a couple of minutes, but gradually became worse.

Now, I've made a next step, and bought a new Optoma Hd131xe projector, and it's time that the theater would step up a little...

Here is a photo of the current situation:
(Sorry for the bad pic, it was taken right before "demolition", with my cellphone)

As you can notice, this is where the title comes in. The room is an attic, all the walls are sloped (roof). The entire room is about 4m wide, and 5,7m long. The actual HT area is aboud 3,2m wide, and 3,5m long. Max height is something of 2,2m.
Seating is a DIY bench, made out of big foam cushions from a caravan we don't use anymore. It's pretty comfortable, it's also the only thing that works, because anything higher is well, too high.

Speakers are modified New Large advents, the center is a wharfedale diamond 10. I have Diamond 10.2 main speakers too, but after the modifications, I actually prefer the advents over the wharfedales. (the advents are incredibly fun speakers, and for editing and mixing, I prefer them too the wharfedales too.)

I run the amps straight from my soundcard (a modified digidesign Digi-002), and use a standalone dolby/dts decoder for decoding surround from the PS3. This is fed to a Tascam M-308 mixing console, which serves as my preamp/volume control. This might seem a weird method, but as this is also my "diy studio", it works pretty comfortable...