Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone and greetings from 8300 feet in the Colorado Rockies.

The research has been completed, in no small thanks to this forum and I'm ready to start my first box build (x2).

The finished boxes will be for a dedicated HT and installed as a pair of end tables on either side of my primary seating area. The space they need to fit into is very tight so the shape is a little odd. The total volume is 4.5 cubic feet, port and bracing included. The tune is 20 hz and the port dimensions are 2 x 10 x 26. I'll be using an EP4000 in 2 chanel mode for power and high pass filter at 18 hz.

Since this is my first build, I think I'll build a prototype box using MDF first. That way I can work out any issued in a less costly material. I can also install and test the sub in an expendable cabinet. The finished boxes will be in a high grade veneer plywood. Gotta keep the wife happy, right?

I'm attaching a Sketchup file to show the plan so far. The top has been left off for easy viewing. Also, the braces have been omitted as I'm going to design them in my shop during the build. Please forgive the less than stellar drawing as I'm new to Sketchup. It should give you the idea though...

Any advice, thoughts, observations, questions, etc are always welcome. I'll also be posting lots of photos of the build.

Atomic batteries to power, turbines to speed, here we go...

Attachments

·
Elite Shackster
7,142 Posts
It is an unusual design. You will need to ensure you pad the box out with something as you may get a resonance issue with such a slim box. It should work ok though, I built a couple like this last year and they were great once complete. Can you attach your win ISD model?

·
Elite Shackster
7,142 Posts