Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 868 Posts

·
Premium Member
644 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I thought it was about time I started a build thread. People have helped me a great deal here which I really appreciate! Hopefully some might find parts of the thread useful.

My fiance and I are currently in the middle of renovating our house. My dad is a builder by trade so for the past 2 years he and I have been working weekends on the renos. It has been a fairly huge undertaking, we've changed/added rooms in all 4 directions and have basically gutted the house and started again.

The best part about the renovation is that we have built a room that is going to become our HT. There is still a bit to do on the house, but we are getting very close to being able to get stuck into building the HT.

The dimensions of the room are as follows:
width: 4800
length: 6000
Height: 3000

The room is maybe a fraction wider than I would have liked, but it could be converted into a rumpus/lounge room if we ever look to sell the house. The existing house is roughly 600mm off the ground so the ceilings of the existing house and theatre are at the same height, but the floor of the theatre is lower to get the extra height.

The room itself has been built for a while. It has just been used to store from various rooms while they get redone. I had to promise it would be the last room done because my fiance knew nothing else would get completed.

Frames up!
Trusses on
Sarcing and 1/2 the floor down
Windows, I'll be plugging these up
Brick work done

I haven't done too much with sound isolation other than insulating all the walls and using the thicker firecheck gyprock. I would have loved to do a double layer of gyprock with green glue in between, but it was going to cost a bit too much :(

I installed conduit and pre-wired for a 7.1 setup (I only have a 5.1 setup at the moment) before putting up the gyprock.
batons on ceiling and power cables!
Conduit and insulation