Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts
A

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Re: Sub wiring - Line in 0r speaker

Hi All,

I'm a newbie to this forum and by no stretch of the imagination an audiophile:dunno: I am trying to put together my HT after a move and have been reading this post for some clues about my sub. It is a powered sub with only screw posts for right & left Hi Level In and High Leve Out. My amp has an RCA Jack for the sub. I know that I can run wires thru the sub to the speakers but the house is pre-wired and only a single pair of wires run to the sub location.:yikes: It has an OnQ panel at the equipment location with a sub jack which has 2 wires coming from the female end thru the walls to the sub location. How do I go from an RCA jack at the amp/panel to the sub without a lot of fishing of extra wires?:dontknow:

Please respond in simple language for the uninitiated.:dumbcrazy: Many, Many thanks!

Bob:help:

·
Registered
3,251 Posts

Can you post a couple of pictures of the sub and panel???

I assume that you can just remove the RCA and use the bare wires ...but I (and I'm sure others too) need to see how is connected at the panel :yes:

·
Registered
999 Posts

Seems like that must be an older sub. Sorry, for hi level inputs & outputs that sub needs to be connected with heavy gauge (#14) speaker wire - two pairs from amp L/R speaker outputs to the sub hi level inputs. Two pairs from the sub hi level outputs to the Left & Right main speakers.

Not a good situation for hiding the wires.

Might be worthwhile in your case to buy a newer sub that can be connected with a simple low level RCA audio interconnect cable. Otherwise a capable electronics tech could modify your subwoofer power amp to add a RCA input jack.

A

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4

Thanks for the reply guys.