Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Firstly, hello. :) I've been lurking here for years, and finally decided to jump into slowly building my HT setup.

I've been using an older 2005 model RE XXX 15" in my car for years(2100w [email protected]), and have grown to not really care for car audio anymore. So logically, I decided to use the sub for my home theater.

I ran across the T/S parameters:
XXX 15
FS 28.0HZ
RE 1.9DVC
QMS 4.68
QES 0.55
QTS 0.49
SD CM2 810
VAS 123.3
XMAX 32mm(1 way)
BL 17.1
SPL 1W/1M 88.7
RMS 1600W
MAX 2500W

I'm new to WinISD, so please go easy on me. I've uploaded a couple WinISD tables to see what you guys think.

I plan to pick up an EP4000 and use that with the XXX 15 in place of my HTIB(Onkyo HT-S894) 230w powered 10".

I'll be going slow at first, but I believe that a second EP4000, and two 18's(FI BTL's maybe) will be in my future as well as whatever surrounds/center channel sets I can build to keep up with the 18's.

Attachments

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Oops, I forgot to mention the XXX is a dual 2ohm model.

Also, the WinISD calculations made the SPL 86db, while it's really 88.7db. I changed that in the parameters tab, but I didn't notice a difference on the graphs so I didn't take any updated screen shots.

Also, that port air velocity is probably going to be a problem, right?

·
Registered
2,431 Posts
Looks ok. My modeling looks even better with the same parameters so something is a bit odd about yours. The hump above tune specifically. LE maybe? Either way that should be fine. Not bad for just starting with winisd. You'll want a hpf below 15hz to remove that content and prevent the sub from bottoming below tune. A behringer MIC2200 is cheap and effective for that. The port airspeed looks high with 2000w dumped into it but in real world use it will be fine.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·