Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone.

I am new to the forum and have found alot of information on this site so far. I am new to projectors and need some help.

I have decided to go with a panasonic PT-AE4000U projector it will be used mostly for movies and video games with a little bit of TV. The setup will be going in the basement family room which is a multi purpose room not just a HT. The paint color is a medium brown color with white suspended ceiling. I have 16' from the front of the room to the back. I will most likely be wall mounting the projector on the back of the room. I want a motorized screen but I do not know what is a good brand to get or what color of screen or other features I should be looking for in a screen. I don't want to spend more than $1000.00 on the screen. Also what would a good sized screen be when sitting about 14' from the screen? Any recomendations or info is greatly appreciated.

·
Banned
14,914 Posts
I'd recommend a screen size of 110" or larger. Check out the Elite CineTension screens at Visual Apex. They should be under $1000. As for the screen color, If you plan on watching everything in the dark, go with the CineWhite material. If you like to have some lighting on, go with CineGrey.

If you don't go with the Elite, make sure whatever you get is tab tensioned.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank You for the reply.

Have you heard of the EluneVision Screens? I have been looking around and found a Canadian store that sells these and the price seems to be good as well.

Should I be looking for a screen with a higher gain of 1.8 - 2.4 or a screen with lower gain of about 1.2? I would like to be able to have some light on and still be able to have a decent picture.

I am trying to find a screen in Canada to avoid paying customs and duty charges.

Thank You.

·
Moderator Emeritus
3,772 Posts
Thank You for the reply.