Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking to upgrade my RSL Speedwoofer 10. It blends well with the RSL speakers but I feel that there is more bass to be had for my movie watching nights. Room size is 16'x15'x8', open door way is 3 feet, room is on the second floor and system is used 100% for Home Theater. My budget is around $1,500, but I could go $2,000 if I never had to buy again. :spend:

I have looked at PSA, HSU, Rhythmik and each company has made a recommendation based on my placement requirement of going under a table in the corner of the room between two sofas. Underneath of table is 21" tall, so I will have to place a taller subwoofer on its side. PSA recommended the V1500, HSU recommended Vtf-15h mk2, and Rythmik recommended LVX12. I have read great things about all three and not sure if one would be better suited for my needs. I have considered going dual but I am a newbie and skills are limited and room placement is limited as well since this is a playroom as well for my daughters. Any suggestions would be appreciated and I am not mated to the companies mentioned above, they are the only one's I have corresponded with at this time.

·
Registered
205 Posts
That's a solid budget, which opens up a tremendous amount of choices. The three subs mentioned are great subs for the money IMO. Is there any possibility of upgrading to dual subs someday, since the budget would certainly support it? Many people use subs in place of end tables, for example. Anyway, lots and lots of choices of subs for your room size and budget. I would first decide if you wanted sealed or ported. Sealed tend to be smaller, ported tend to be larger but offer more output around tune which can be helpful for movies. With your budget, you could swing a sealed sub that will match the output of the $1k ported subs you are looking at around tune, and greatly exceed above and below. Here are a few options to look at: