Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. I've been lurking for a long time and I've finally decided to take the DIY plunge. I'm looking for redommendations for a simple DIY sub for a large basement home theatre. 80% movies, 20% music. Room is 20 x 28 x 7.5. Carpeted with drywall and suspended ceiling. No real budget or size restraints. Woodworking skills average at best. Looking for low extension with moderate listening levels. I already have a ep2500 amp (used to be in a band). Any recommendations would be appreciated.....thanks in advance...

·
Registered
228 Posts
I am new to the home theater realm, but I have the same plans, basswise, as you do. i am building a box right now for a 18" Mach5 MJ-18M sub. my basement is a little bigger than your basement but my set-up is for about 80% movies and 20% music as well. the MJ-18M is fairly cheap too. 145 US dollars shipped. And I have the ep1500 amp. this is also going in the basement as well. man. lol. but I don't exactly know how its going to turn out but you should tune into my build and check it out, ill have pictures too. good luck.

·
Premium Member
19,397 Posts

·
Registered
2,398 Posts
You must have some budget and size constraints - if not, I can suggest a $10,000 sub that will take up half your room. In all seriousness, suggestions can't really start anywhere until we know what you have to work with.

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yeah 10k would be a little out of my price range :bigsmile: Though I wouldn't mind hearing one. I guess I'd like to keep it around 700-1000. I've seen some great designs with the Tempest-X and the Maelstrom-X. Like I said, my woodworking is average at best so I was thinking sealed for my first build but I'm nervous I'll be missing out on the deep extensions on some of the staple movies (WOTW, U571, etc). I'm also a little nervous about a sealed single 15 or 18 filling my room....

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #7