Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm interested in building an inexpensive kit for speakers that will be used either as rear surrounds or height or width effects speakers. My current front speakers are ACI Sapphires and Protege center (ScanSpeak silk dome tweeters and Revelator midrange drivers).

I don't need to use the same drivers, but would like something that would be compatible in terms of voicing and/or timbre.

Since they will be mounted close to the wall, should I be looking for something with a sealed box or a front port?

What about a coaxial design, such as the Seas Loki?

I am not an expert carpenter, so I'm most interested in ready-built cabinets or flat-pack kits. I can solder and read a schematic, so building cross-overs is something I can do.

I'd like to keep the total price below $500 for the pair.

Any suggestions? Thanks.

·
Registered
1,492 Posts
I'm glad that I could help! I'm sure that someone will add some specific recommendations as to which drivers to buy; I understand timbre matching but do not have enough experience with all of the various drivers to make a good recommendation.

You could use the same drivers, of course. ScanSpeak drivers* may bust your budget, but they are really good drivers! I've heard a few speakers that used Vifa tweeters that sounded good, too.

*I checked around and found some ScanSpeak tweeters; they cost from ~$37 to >$200 each.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I'm pretty sure this (D2905/9300) is the ScanSpeak tweeter in my ACI Sapphires. Not exactly budget! I'd love to find a comparable fabric dome tweeter, but I'm not sure what traits and/or specs I should be looking for.

·
Registered
1,492 Posts
I'm sure someone will chime-in with some specific recommendations on drivers. I simply have not heard enough of them to make a good recommendation. Sorry! :dontknow: