Home Theater Forum and Systems banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was doing a google search on how to repair my velodyne ct 150 when I came across a post on this forum. I'm a newb when it comes to DIY projects so I'm wondering how easy or complicated it is to replace the built in amp.

The person who replied suggested using a 300W BASH® Subwoofer Amplifier from oaudio. This got me to thinking in a more is better sort of way. Could I get away with using a more powerful amplifier, say a 500w? If so are there any pitfalls or warnings I need to be aware of, like setting my carpets on fire?

Thanks for your help in advance.

Cryingday

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the quick reply gents.

Frank,
I tried looking over parts expresses replacement plates in the 250w range and they were all discontinued. The closest that I could find was the Dayton Audio MCA2250E 2.1 Channel Class D Plate Amplifier. Am I missing something?

Mike,
Thanks for the heads up against going 500w. It was just a passing thought, lol. How hard/dangerous is it for a novice to replace the 2 resistors in the bash 300w you mentioned? I'm trying not get myself killed and am so far succeeding. Barely...

cryingday

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 · (Edited)
Hi Mike.

First thanks for your help. I have only taken the subwoofer in to a local repair shop and their diagnosis was that the amp has gone bad. Since, they asked me how to spell Velodyne, it doesn't give me a lot of confidence in their work so I took back possession of the CT-150.

I know someone who's very well versed with the use of a soldering iron so no problems on that front.

As far as what shape the drivers are in, I don't know. I can remove the amp plate any time and check. As far as I could tell from what the repair shop explained to me when they took a look at the subwoofer, everything looked good.